Content

Alfred Brendel is born in a northern Moravian village in 1931, where he effortlessly learns dozens of folk songs from his nanny.
When he is three, his parents start a hotel business on the Croatian island of Krk, where Alfred is permitted to play records for the hotel guests, sometimes singing along to Jan Kiepura operetta recordings.
The next stage is Zagreb, where his father runs a movie theater and six-year-old Alfred receives his first piano lessons. At the age of seven he composes a waltz that resembles the Radetzky March in 3/4 time, and gives his stage debut soon afterward in a children’s performance at the Zagreb opera house, singing two couplets as a general sporting a sword and fez. He was not a child prodigy, however, as he often points out.
His father is drafted in the Second World War and Alfred moves with his mother to Graz. He starts performing less well at school as his interest is now focused only on art. He drops out of school at sixteen to devote himself entirely to music (and completely self-taught!), a decision for which his mother only forgives him many years later when he receives the first honorary doctorate from Oxford University.

© Ulla Pilz, ORF - Radio Österreich 1

Facts


  • Born in 1931 in Vizmberk/Wiesenberg, modern-day Czech Republic, first piano lessons in 1937

  • Starting 1943 piano and composition studies at the conservatory in Graz. In 1947 he passes, as a day pupil, the state exam in piano at the Vienna Musikakademie; from age sixteen onward he continues without a piano teacher

  • First solo recital at seventeen; his career is launched when he wins a prize at the renowned Feruccio Busoni Competition in Bolzano. Though it is only an “honorable fourth prize,” Brendel is just eighteen and no first prize is awarded

  • 1950 moves to Vienna, first recordings. In the 1960s, he is the first pianist to record Beethoven’s complete piano works

  • 1971 Brendel moves to London, where he still resides with his second wife Irene. They have three children together, including their son Adrian, who is a successful cellist. From his first marriage, Brendel also has a daughter, Doris, who has made a career as a rock singer

  • During the 1982–83 season he performs all thirty-two Beethoven sonatas in eleven European and American cities. He also records Mozart’s complete piano concertos and devotes himself throughout his whole life to giving Schubert’s piano works the place they deserve

  • Not only a pianist, Alfred Brendel has also published musical essays (the most well-known entitled Musical Thoughts and Afterthoughts) and five volumes of poetry. Though regarded as the philosopher among pianists, he prefers the term “thinker”

  • He has received countless awards and honors, including two honorary doctorates, Japan’s Praemium Imperiale, the Ernst von Siemens Music Prize, an ECHO Klassik Award for his life’s work, and the title of Honorary Knight Commander

  • 2008 after a sudden hearing loss and a six-decade-long career as a pianist, gives his farewell concert in Vienna. He continues to write, give master classes, and hold lectures and poetry readings


Did you know?


  • Finding the atmosphere at Vienna’s Musikverein too formal, Brendel once leads a baby turtle through the audience in the 1950s.

  • Brendel loves everything that is absurd, grotesque, and kitschy, from Dada to Baroque architecture and the cartoons of Gary Larson. Asked about his favorite activity, he answers “laughing.”

  • The worst instrument he ever played on was in Ballarat, one of the coldest places in Australia. Members of the audience were wrapped in blankets and Brendel eventually announced that he wished he had an axe so he could break the piano to pieces.

  • He characterizes himself as a more or less harmonious skeptic; he believes doubt is not an instrument of self-flagellation but a sign of mental health.

  • Brendel often passes harsh judgment on other musicians. On the subject of Glenn Gould, for example, he wonders why someone who is so talented mistreats composers so terribly.

  • What really angers him is that people like Schubert, Büchner, and Keats had to die so early.

  • In Brendel’s view, the interpreter is a rhetorician: his task is to teach, to move, and to entertain people, as well as to continually find and feel something new, to “revive the score and kiss it to life.” This, he says, is the erotic component of interpretation.


Gallery

Recommendations

Inhalt

Alfred Brendel wird 1931 in einem nordmährischen Dorf geboren, hier lernt er von der „Milli-Tant“, einer älteren Kinderfrau, mühelos unzählige Volkslieder.
Als er drei Jahre alt ist, versuchen seine Eltern auf der kroatischen Insel Krk ein Hotel zu führen, Alfred darf für die Hotelgäste den Plattenspieler bedienen und singt bei der Gelegenheit zu den Operettenaufnahmen Jan Kiepuras.
Nächste Station: Zagreb, der Vater ist Kinodirektor und der sechsjährige Alfred bekommt die ersten Klavierstunden. Mit sieben komponiert er einen Walzer, der klingt wie der Radetzkymarsch im Dreivierteltakt und schon bald feiert er sein Bühnendebut in einer Kinderaufführung des Zagreber Opernhauses: Er spielt einen General mit Fez und Säbel und singt zwei Couplets. Wunderkind ist er aber keines, wie er immer wieder betont.
Im Zweiten Weltkrieg wird der Vater eingezogen, Mutter und Sohn übersiedeln nach Graz. Ab diesem Zeitpunkt lassen Alfreds schulischen Leistungen nach, er interessiert sich nur mehr für die Kunst. Dass er mit 16 die Schule abbricht, um sich ganz der Musik zu widmen (und das auch noch als Autodidakt!) verzeiht ihm die Mutter erst viele Jahre später, als ihm die Universität Oxford die erste Ehrendoktorwürde verleiht.
© Ulla Pilz, ORF - Radio Österreich 1

Wissenswertes


  • Geboren 1931 in Vizmberk/Wiesenberg im heutigen Tschechien, erster Klavierunterricht 1937

  • Ab 1943 Klavier- und Kompositionsstudium am Konservatorium in Graz. Bereits 1947 legt er an der Wiener Musikakademie als Externist die Staatsprüfung im Fach Klavier ab, seit er 16 ist, kommt er ohne Klavierlehrer aus

  • Erstes Solokonzert mit 17, Karrierestart als Preisträger des renommierten Bozener Feruccio Busoni - Wettbewerbs. Es handelt sich zwar nur um einen „ehrenvollen vierten Platz“, aber Brendel ist erst 18 und es wird kein 1. Preis vergeben

  • 1950 Übersiedlung nach Wien, erste Aufnahmen. In den 1960ern nimmt er als erster Pianist Beethovens gesamtes Klavierwerk auf

  • 1971 zieht Brendel nach London, wo er bis heute mit seiner zweiten Ehefrau Irene lebt. Mit ihr hat er drei Kinder, darunter den Sohn Adrian, einen erfolgreichen Cellisten. Hinzu kommt noch Tochter Doris aus erster Ehe, die als Rocksängerin Karriere macht

  • In der Saison 1982/83 spielt er in 11 europäischen und amerikanischen Städten alle 32 Beethoven-Sonaten. Auch Mozarts sämtliche Klavierkonzerte spielt er ein, und er bemüht sich lebenslang, Schuberts Klavierwerk die Rolle zu geben, die es verdient

  • Alfred Brendel ist nicht nur Pianist, er veröffentlicht auch Musikessays (am Bekanntesten ist wohl „Nachdenken über Musik“ und fünf Gedichtbände. Er gilt zwar als der Philosoph unter den Pianisten, bevorzugt selber aber das Wort „Denker“

  • Er erhält unzählige Preise und Ehrungen, darunter zwei Ehrendoktorate, den japanische Praemium Imperiale, den Ernst von Siemens Musikpreis, einen ECHO Klassik für sein Lebenswerk oder den Titel „Honorary Knight Commander“

  • 2008 gibt er nach einem Hörsturz und einer über sechs Jahrzehnte langen Pianistenkarriere sein Abschiedskonzert in Wien. Seither schreibt er, gibt Meisterkurse und hält Vorträge und Dichterlesungen


Schon gewusst?


  • Weil ihm die Atmosphäre im Wiener Musikverein zu feierlich ist, führt Brendel in den 1950ern einmal eine Baby-Schildkröte an einem seidenen Faden durchs Publikum

  • Alfred Brendel liebt alles Absurde, Groteske und Kitschige, sei es nun Dada, barocke Architektur oder die Cartoons von Gary Larson. Nach seiner Lieblingsbeschäftigung gefragt, antwortet er „lachen“

  • Das schlechteste Instrument, auf dem er je gespielt hat, stand in Ballarat, einem der kältesten Orte Australiens. Das Publikum ist in Decken gewickelt und Brendel verkündet schließlich, er hätte gern eine Axt, um den Flügel zu zertrümmern

  • Er bezeichnet sich selber als relativ harmonischen Skeptiker; denn der Zweifel sei für ihn nicht ein Werkzeug der Selbstzerfleischung, sondern ein Zeichen geistiger Gesundheit

  • Mit anderen Musikern geht Brendel oft hart ins Gericht. So fragt er sich etwa bei Glenn Gould, warum ein Mensch, der so begabt ist, die Komponisten so fürchterlich malträtiert

  • Wenn ihn etwas aggressiv macht, ist das die Tatsache, dass Schubert, Büchner oder Keats so früh sterben mussten

  • Der Interpret ist laut Brendel Rhetoriker: Er soll lehren, rühren und unterhalten. Und immer wieder von neuem etwas finden oder fühlen, den Notentext „aufwecken und wachküssen“. Das sei die erotische Komponente des Ganzen


Galerie

Empfehlungen