Content

TEATRO BAROCCO transports its audience to Mozart's era

In 2012, Viennese opera director, stage and costume designer Bernd R. Bienert founded the opera festival TEATRO BAROCCO with the aim of transporting a contemporary audience back to the historical opera and theater of Mozart's era. At the original venues and in cooperation with first-class singers, musicians and conductors, Bienert has since succeeded with outstanding success in presenting the most important operas of European music history, such as Mozart's famous masterpieces Le nozze di Figaro and Così fan tutte, as well as Hasse's Piramo e Tisbe and Gluck's La Corona, in first performances at the palace theaters of Laxenburg and Schönbrunn. Most recently, Bienert's TEATRO BAROCCO made history with the world premiere of Georg Anton Benda's melodrama Philon und Theone. Like hardly any director before, Bienert knows how to unite the revival of the visual language and movement idiom of the great musical theater tradition of the 18th century with the musical language of that era in magnificent, handmade costumes and hand-painted sets designed by himself, and to convey the total work of art to a contemporary audience as a memorable key experience.

WORLD PERFORMANCE after 242 years

The score of the masterpiece Philon und Theone, composed in Vienna in 1779 by the Bohemian composer Georg Anton Benda, who was highly admired by W. A. Mozart, remained unperformed until its rediscovery by TEATRO BAROCCO in the summer of 2021. Bienert lifted the treasure of European music history stored in the Austrian National Library and brought Benda's masterpiece to sound for the first time in the world with the incredible delay of 242 years. The magnificent work, full of enchanting effects, unleashes its storms of musical emotion through the unusual use of the glass harmonica, which had only just been invented at the time. In this way, Benda succeeded in taking a completely new dramaturgical path, interweaving the glass harmonica, actors, soprano, chorus and orchestra, thus bringing the form of melodrama into the immediate vicinity of opera. With the world premiere of this unjustly unknown masterpiece, TEATRO BAROCCO continued its successful performance tradition, which since 2012 has brought all three of Mozart's much-loved melodramas by fellow composer G. A. Benda - Pygmalion, Ariadne auf Naxos and Medea - to the stage for the first time in the historical directing style.


BERND R. BIENERT | Opera Director and Founding Director of TEATRO BAROCCO

The more than forty years of practice of artistic director Bernd R. Bienert as an opera director, choreographer, stage and costume designer at major international opera houses such as the Vienna State Opera, the Zurich Opera House, the Theater Basel, the Düsseldorf Opera, the Dresden Semper Opera, the Deutsche Oper Berlin, the Salzburg Festival, the Festspielhaus Bregenz, the Karlsruhe Handel Festival, at the Centre Pompidou in Paris, at Expo 2000 and at the ZKM Karlsruhe, as well as guest performances in Barcelona, Japan, Korea, Washington D.C., Holland and Turkey allow him to combine his stage experience gained there with personal research results on Mozart's operas and the era of Viennese Classicism and to bring them together in his productions for TEATRO BAROCCO and to bring them into harmony with the intentions of the creators of these historical works.

Details

  • Production Year:

    2021

  • Category:
  • Genres:
  • Age rating:

    0+

  • Audio Language:

    English

  • Subtitle Language:

    no subtitles

  • Festival:
  • Country:

    Austria

Besetzung

Additional Materials

Recommendations

Inhalt

TEATRO BAROCCO versetzt sein Publikum in Mozarts Epoche

2012 gründete der Wiener Opernregisseur, Bühnen- und Kostümbildner Bernd R. Bienert das Opernfestival TEATRO BAROCCO mit dem Anliegen, ein heutiges Publikum in die historische Opern- und Theaterkunst der Epoche Mozarts zurückzuführen. An den Originalschauplätzen und in Kooperation mit erstklassigen SängerInnen, MusikerInnen und Dirigenten gelingt es Bienert seitdem mit herausragendem Erfolg die bedeutendsten Opern der europäischen Musikgeschichte, wie Mozarts berühmte Meisterwerke Le nozze di Figaro und Così fan tutte, sowie Hasses Piramo e Tisbe und Glucks La Corona, an den Schlosstheatern von Laxenburg und Schönbrunn in Erstaufführungen zu zeigen. Zuletzt hat Bienerts TEATRO BAROCCO mit der Uraufführung des Melodrams Philon und Theone von Georg Anton Benda Geschichte geschrieben. Wie kaum ein Regisseur zuvor versteht es Bienert, die Wiedererweckung der Bildsprache und des Bewegungsidioms der großen Musiktheatertradition des 18. Jahrhunderts in von ihm selbst entworfenen prachtvollen, handgefertigten Kostümen und handgemalten Bühnenbildern mit der musikalischen Sprache dieser Epoche zu vereinen und das Gesamtkunstwerk einem heutigen Publikum als einprägsames Schlüsselerlebnis zu vermitteln.

WELTURAUFFÜHRUNG nach 242 Jahren

Die Partitur des in Wien 1779 komponierten Meisterwerkes Philon und Theone des von W. A. Mozart höchst verehrten böhmischen Komponisten Georg Anton Benda ist bis zu ihrer Wiederentdeckung durch TEATRO BAROCCO im Sommer 2021 unaufgeführt geblieben. Bienert hob den in der Österreichischen Nationalbibliothek verwahrten Schatz der europäischen Musikgeschichte und brachte Bendas Meisterwerk mit der unglaublichen Verspätung von 242 Jahren weltweit erstmals zum Klingen. Das großartige Werk voll verzaubernder Effekte entfesselt seine musikalischen Gefühlsstürme durch den ungewöhnlichen Einsatz der damals gerade erst erfundenen Glasharmonika. Damit gelang es Benda, einen völlig neuen dramaturgischen Weg einzuschlagen, der die Glasharmonika, Schauspieler, Sopran, Chor und Orchester miteinander verwob und so die Form des Melodrams in die unmittelbare Nähe zur Oper rückte. Mit der Welturaufführung dieses zu Unrecht unbekannt gebliebenen Meisterwerkes knüpfte TEATRO BAROCCO an seine erfolgreiche Aufführungstradition an, die seit 2012 alle drei von Mozarts heiß geliebten Melodramen des damit zu Weltruhm aufgestiegenen Komponistenkollegen G. A. Benda – Pygmalion, Ariadne auf Naxos und Medea – erstmals im historischen Regiestil auf die Bühne brachte.


BERND R. BIENERT | Opernregisseur und Gründungsintendant von TEATRO BAROCCO

Die über vierzigjährige Praxis von Intendant Bernd R. Bienert als Opernregisseur, Choreograf, Bühnen- und Kostümbildner an großen internationalen Opernhäusern wie der Wiener Staatsoper, dem Opernhaus Zürich, dem Theater Basel, der Oper Düsseldorf, der Dresdner Semper-Oper, der Deutschen Oper Berlin, den Salzburger Festspielen, dem Festspielhaus Bregenz, den Karlsruher Händel-Festspielen, am Pariser Centre Pompidou, auf der Expo 2000 und am ZKM Karlsruhe sowie auf Gastspielreisen in Barcelona, nach Japan und Korea, Washington D.C., Holland und die Türkei erlaubt es ihm, seine dort gesammelten Bühnenerfahrungen mit persönlichen Forschungsergebnissen zu den Opern Mozarts und der Epoche der Wiener Klassik zu vereinen und in seinen Inszenierungen für TEATRO BAROCCO zusammenzuführen und in Einklang mit den Intentionen der Schöpfer dieser historischen Werke zu bringen.

Details

  • Produktionsjahr:

    2021

  • Kategorie:
  • Genres:
  • Altersfreigabe:

    0+

  • Audiosprache:

    Deutsch

  • Untertitelsprache:

    keine Untertitel

  • Festival:
  • Land:

    Österreich

Besetzung

Zusatzmaterial

Empfehlungen

Zugehörige Kollektionen

Promotion image Promotion image

Neu im Programm