Little brother and little sister even at the time of their creation: the libretto of Engelbert Humperdinck's fairy tale opera was written by his sister Adelheid. In the maelstrom of late romantic music, the brother and sister are drawn to the witch in the forest - and almost into the oven. When at the end the witch's oven explodes and the many gingerbreads of the crunchy house turn back into the children they had been before, the magic is great and so is the joy! The suite, put together especially for Grafenegg by Austrian conductors Roberto Paternostro and Patrick Hahn, combines popular melodies from Humperdinck's hit play, including the duet "Brüderchen, komm tanz' mit mir," the Witches' Ride and the Knusper Waltz, as well as the Sandmann Song with the touching Evening Blessing. Under the direction of Christian Schumann, the Tonkünstler Orchestra, together with Nikola Hillebrand as Gretel and Kate Lindsey as Hansel and as the Sandman, recorded excerpts of the Advent classic for this attractive concert film: a gift to the loyal audience and the musical highlight for the family Christmas!

© Tonkünstler Orchestra


  • Production Year:


  • Category:
  • Genres:
  • Age rating:


  • Audio Language:


  • Subtitle Language:

    no subtitles

  • Location:
  • Country: