To mark the start of his tenure, the new Music Director of the Boston Symphony Orchestra, Andris Nelsons, conducts this gala event. Nelson's wife, the renowned Latvian soprano Kristine Opolais and the outstanding German tenor Jonas Kaufmann perform a selection of Wagnerian and Italian verismo.

The concert begins appropriately with Wagner's Tannhäuser Overture - the work that first inspired the five-year-old Nelson to a life in music - and ends with Respighi's spectacular symphonic poem "Pines of Rome".

A special feature lies in the exciting new collaboration between the conductor and the BSO, as well as in the program selection, in which Wagner's Prelude and Liebestod from "Tristan und Isolde" and the Intermezzo from Mascagni's Cavalleria Rusticana are highlights.


  • Production Year:


  • Category:
  • Genres:
  • Age rating:


  • Audio Language:

    no linguistic content

  • Subtitle Language:

    no subtitles

  • Location:
  • Country:

    United States




Associated Collections

Promotion image Promotion image

Jonas Kaufmann

Promotion image Promotion image

Wagner concertante

Promotion image Promotion image

Andris Nelsons

Promotion image Promotion image

Giacomo Puccini