This concert from the Salle Pleyel in Paris is devoted to two famous and popular masterpieces of the 19th century. Together with chief conductor Paavo Järvi and “his” orchestra, L’orchestre de Paris, pianist Rudolf Buchbinder, “one of the most important and competent Beethoven interpreters of our time" (Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung), is performing Ludwig van Beethoven’s Third Piano Concerto. It is written in C minor, the key Beethoven only chose for the most dramatic and heroic works as his Fifth Symphony and his Piano Sonata op. 13, the famous “Pathétique”.

The second main work is Antonín Dvořák’s Eighth symphony, here in the ideal company of the rather rarely performed Symphonic Variations: Dvořák used the technique of variation also for the Finale of the symphony, which he composed ten years later. The Symphony, cheery and full of beautiful melodies, draws its inspiration from the Bohemian folk music that Dvořák loved.




Associated Collections

Promotion image Promotion image

Rudolf Buchbinder

Promotion image Promotion image


Promotion image Promotion image

Paavo Järvi