Content

Bass-baritone Bryn Terfel is a towering figure in today’s musical world – both physically and artistically. Whether in the opera house or on the recital stage, he blends his powerful, versatile voice with commanding stage presence. Since bass-baritones are usually the “bad boys” in opera, the Welsh singer has put together a program that portrays a gallery of rogues and villains, the “demonic misfits and malcontents of this wonderful music” (Bryn Terfel).

The “big international star with the common touch; a peoples’ person” (The Independent) is accompanied in this program – recorded at Cardiff’s St. David’s Hall in his native Wales – by the Sinfonia Cymru under Gareth Jones. Terfel needs only a few suggestive props – a knife, a whip – to slip into the role of the devil, a trickster, a drug dealer, a murderous barber and other evil characters. Among them are two Mephistopheles: an arrogant French one from Gounod’s “Faust” and a sneering Italian version from Boito’s “Mefistofele”. His interpretations of classics such as Iago (“Otello”) and Scarpia (“Tosca”), for which Terfel is acclaimed on opera stages around the world, are enough to make one’s blood run cold.

Next to the roles that helped establish his international reputation, Terfel also gleefully dips into the 20th-century repertoire of bad guys. He delivers a murderously good turn as the knife-wielding Sweeney Todd from the Sondheim opera of the same name, a gripping Javert from “Les Misérables”, and a proudly swaggering Sporting Life from “Porgy and Bess”. The program also features brief and witty introductions to the vocal works by Terfel himself.

Details

  • Production Year:

    2011

  • Genres:
  • Age rating:

    0+

  • Audio Language:

    no linguistic content

  • Subtitle Language:

    no subtitles

  • Location:
  • Country:

    United Kingdom

Gallery

Recommendations

Inhalt

Der Bassbariton Bryn Terfel ist eine überragende Figur in der heutigen Musikwelt - sowohl in physischer als auch in künstlerischer Hinsicht. Ob im Opernhaus oder auf der Konzertbühne, er verbindet seine kraftvolle, vielseitige Stimme mit souveräner Bühnenpräsenz. Da Bassbaritone in der Oper meist die "bösen Buben" sind, hat der walisische Sänger ein Programm zusammengestellt, das eine Galerie von Schurken und Bösewichten porträtiert, den "dämonischen Außenseitern und Unzufriedenen dieser wunderbaren Musik" (Bryn Terfel).

Der "große internationale Star mit dem "common touch; a peoples' person" (The Independent) wird in diesem Programm - aufgenommen in Cardiffs St. David's Hall in seiner walisischen Heimat - von der Sinfonia Cymru unter Gareth Jones begleitet. Terfel braucht nur einige wenige suggestive Requisiten - ein Messer, eine Peitsche -, um in die Rolle des Teufels, eines Betrügers, eines Drogendealers, eines mörderischen Barbiers und anderer böser Figuren zu schlüpfen. Unter ihnen sind zwei Mephistopheles: ein arroganter französischer aus Gounods "Faust" und eine höhnische italienische Version aus Boitos "Mefistofele". Seine Interpretationen von Klassikern wie Iago ("Otello") und Scarpia ("Tosca"), für die Terfel auf Opernbühnen in aller Welt gefeiert wird, lassen einem das Blut in den Adern gefrieren.

Neben den Rollen, die seinen internationalen Ruf begründeten, taucht Terfel auch freudig in das Repertoire der Bösewichte des 20. Jahrhunderts ein. Er liefert einen mörderisch guten Auftritt als der Messer schwingende Sweeney Todd aus der gleichnamigen Oper von Sondheim, einen fesselnden Javert aus "Les Misérables" und einen stolzen Sporting Life aus "Porgy and Bess". Auf dem Programm stehen auch kurze und geistreiche Einführungen zu den Vokalwerken von Terfel selbst.

Details

  • Produktionsjahr:

    2011

  • Genres:
  • Altersfreigabe:

    0+

  • Audiosprache:

    keine Sprachinhalte

  • Untertitelsprache:

    keine Untertitel

  • Location:
  • Land:

    Vereinigtes Königreich

Galerie

Empfehlungen