Content

Oh! The Green Peas!, Morning Hygiene Prelude, Tartar Bolero, and Gherkins - not only the titles of Gioachino Rossini’s Péchés de vieillesse (Sins of Old Age), as he called his late musical miniatures, bring Erik Satie to mind: musically speaking, Rossini also anticipates the French composer’s quirkiness in many ways.
The salon pieces are intended for a private setting, and the master prohibits them from being publicly performed.But these miniatures alone are enough to debunk the cliché of the world-famous composer who turned his back on music at the age of 37, after composing 39 operas, to devote himself exclusively to the art of cuisine.
But though he did have an unmistakable streak of hedonism and pronounced sense of humor, Rossini was at the same time a tragic figure who was grappling with the late complications of gonorrhea (having contracted the disease in his youth), in addition to recurrent bouts of depression exacerbated by insomnia and anxiety.
And though he brought his audiences the world over to the point of near-hysteria, his compositions were regarded as more commercial than artistic. Beethoven, his antithesis, urged him to write nothing but comic operas - though these don’t even account for half of his oeuvre

© Ulla Pilz, ORF - Radio Österreich 1

Facts


  • February 29, 1792 (three months after Mozart’s death) born in Pesaro

  • 1810 first performance of a Rossini opera (Il cambiale di matrimonio in Venice)

  • 1813 breakthrough with the opera Tancredi

  • Starting in 1815, director and resident composer at both opera houses in Naples

  • 1822 travels to Vienna, the city is consumed by the so-called “Rossini craze”

  • Starting in 1824, director of the Italian opera house in Paris

  • 1829 composes his final opera William Tell

  • 1830 the French king is forced to abdicate, Rossini becomes unemployed but successfully petitions in court for a lifelong pension

  • Starting in 1836, director of the Bologne music lyceum, where he had begun his own studies in 1802

  • Starting in 1855, Rossini lives again in Paris, where he dies on November 13, 1868, probably due to complications from intestinal surgery


Did you know?


  • Rossini gave his first public performance at the age of six, playing the triangle in his father’s orchestra.

  • As a sign of admiration, Rossini is affectionately known as the “Swan of Pesaro.”

  • A riot occurs at the 1816 premiere of Il Barbiere di Siviglia in Rome, provoked by followers of composer Giovanni Paisiello, who had set the libretto before Rossini.

  • Rossini held that the best moment to compose an overture is the evening before the premiere.

  • When Rossini visits Vienna in 1822, he makes several attempts to meet Beethoven before finally succeeding. Himself rolling in luxury, he is surprised by Beethoven’s humble living conditions. He is hardly able to communicate with the master, who is deaf and speaks little Italian.

  • One of Rossini’s most beautiful and revealing citations: “Eating, loving, singing, and digesting are, in truth, the four acts of the comic opera known as life, and they pass like bubbles of a bottle of champagne. Whoever lets them break without having enjoyed them is a complete fool.”


Gallery

Recommendations

Associated Collections

Inhalt

„Uff! Die grünen Erbsen!“, „Mein Morgenhygiene-Präludium“, „Tataren-Bolero“ oder „Die Gewürzgurken“ - nicht nur die Titel von Gioachino Rossinis „Péchés de vieillesse“ („Alterssünden“), wie er seine späten Miniaturkompositionen nennt, erinnern an Erik Satie, auch musikalisch nimmt Rossini hier schon einiges von dessen Skurrilität vorweg.
Für den privaten Rahmen sind die Salonstücke gedacht, öffentliche Aufführungen gestattet der Meister nicht.
Aber allein diese Miniaturen reichen aus, um am Klischee des weltberühmten Komponisten, der sich mit 37 Jahren und nach 39 Opern von der Musik abwendet, um fortan nur mehr den Kochlöffel zu schwingen, zu kratzen.

Denn trotz seines unbestrittenen Hedonismus und Humors haben wir es hier auch mit einer durchaus tragischen Figur zu tun, die sich mit den Spätfolgen einer Gonorrhoe aus Jugendjahren herumschlägt, eine davon ist eine immer wiederkehrende Depression inklusive Schlaflosigkeit und Angstzuständen.
Und mit einem Komponisten, der zwar sein Publikum in aller Welt in regelrechte Hysterie versetzt, aber immer eher dem Kommerz zugeordnet wird als der Kunst: So ermahnt ihn sein Antipode Beethoven, doch bloß nichts anderes zu schreiben als komische Opern; die allerdings machen in seinem Werkkatalog nicht einmal die Hälfte aus.

© Ulla Pilz, ORF - Radio Österreich 1

Wissenswertes


  • 29. 2. 1792 (drei Monate nach Mozarts Tod) in Pesaro geboren

  • 1810 erste Aufführung einer Rossini-Oper („Il cambiale di matrimonio“ in Venedig)

  • 1813 Durchbruch mit der Oper „Tancredi“

  • ab 1815 Leiter und Haus- und Hofkomponist beider Opernhäuser von Neapel

  • 1822 Reise nach Wien, die Stadt verfällt in den so genannten „Rossini-Taumel“

  • ab 1824 Leiter des italienischen Opernhauses in Paris

  • 1829 Komposition seiner letzten Oper „Guillaume Tell“

  • 1830 muss der französische König abdanken, Rossini wird arbeitslos, erkämpft sich aber vor Gericht eine lebenslange Rente

  • ab 1836 Leiter des Musiklyzeums von Bologna, in dem er selbst 1802 seine Ausbildung begonnen hat

  • ab 1855 lebt Rossini wieder in Paris, wo er am 13. 11. 1868 stirbt, wahrscheinlich an den Folgen einer Darmoperation


Schon gewusst?


  • Seinen ersten öffentlichen Auftritt absolviert Rossini mit sechs Jahren: Er spielt Triangel im Orchester seines Vaters

  • Rossini wird liebevoll-bewundernd auch „Der Schwan von Pesaro“ genannt

  • Nach der Uraufführung von „Il Barbiere di Siviglia“ 1816 in Rom kommt es zum Tumult, verursacht durch die Anhänger des Komponisten Giovanni Paisiello, der das Libretto vor Rossini vertont hat

  • Laut Rossini ist der beste Zeitpunkt, um eine Ouverture zu komponieren, der Abend vor dem Uraufführungstag

  • Als sich Rossini 1822 in Wien aufhält, versucht er mehrmals zu Beethoven vorgelassen zu werden, bis es gelingt. Er, der im Luxus schwelgt, wundert sich über die Ärmlichkeit von Beethovens Lebensumständen. Eine Kommunikation mit dem ertaubten, kaum italienisch sprechenden Meister ist fast unmöglich.

  • Eines der schönsten und vielsagendsten Rossini-Zitate: „Essen und Lieben, Singen und Verdauen, das sind die vier Akte der Opera buffa, die man gemeinhin das Leben nennt - und das vergeht wie der Schaum einer Champagnerflasche. Wer es dahinschwinden läßt, ohne es genossen zu haben, ist ein Erznarr.“


Galerie

Empfehlungen

Zugehörige Kollektionen