Content

From “dream team“ of the opera stage to “dream team“ of classic and pop – Anna Netrebko and Rolando Villazón have long since conquered the entire world of music. Yet while their CD “Duets“ ranked third on the pop charts, the opera stage remains their preferred venue. And in Jules Massenet‘s “Manon,“ they have found a drama worthy of their combined talents.
Manon, the tragic heroine of Massenet‘s work, is torn between flirtatiousness and profound love, between frivolity and deep commitment. Netrebko seems predestined for this role, with her body language alternating between girlish, introspective and carefree, and her voice radiating brilliance, warmth, mystery and longing. As the impoverished young nobleman Des Grieux, Rolando Villazón compellingly depicts the burning passion of an ultimately doomed lover with his glowing, supple, slender tenor voice.
The glittering production‘s distinctly Hollywood touch is due to director Vincent Paterson, who makes his operatic debut with “Manon.“ Paterson knows what stars want: he worked his way up from dancer to director of music video clips and internationally renowned choreographer who has worked with Madonna, Michael Jackson and Paul McCartney, and staged several Broadway musicals. He also worked on films such as “Dancer in the Dark,“ “Evita“ and “The Birdcage.“ Paterson sees “Manon“ as a cinematic tale for the opera stage, Massenet‘s colorful music as a kind of film soundtrack.
This is why he put the accent clearly on glamour. “Barenboim infuses the appealing melodies with color, and is finely attuned to the emotional fragility that they express.“ (Süddeutsche Zeitung) As befits an event of such dimensions, one of the performances of the opera was projected on 70-square-meter screen on a major Berlin square in front of 20,000 people. This is a “Manon“ which appeals clear across the board to lovers of opera, movies, Broadway shows and beautiful people with gorgeous voices!

Details

Besetzung

Gallery

Recommendations

Associated Collections

Inhalt

Vom "Dream-Team" der Opernbühne bis zum "Dream-Team" von Klassik und Pop – Anna Netrebko und Rolando Villazón haben längst die ganze Musikwelt erobert. Doch obwohl ihre CD "Duets" auf Platz drei der Pop-Charts lag, bleibt die Opernbühne ihr bevorzugter Ort. Und mit Jules Massenets "Manon" haben sie ein Drama gefunden, das ihrer gemeinsamen Talente würdig ist.
Manon, die tragische Heldin von Massenets Werk, ist hin- und hergerissen zwischen Flirt und tiefer Liebe, zwischen Frivolität und tiefer Hingabe. Netrebko scheint für diese Rolle prädestiniert zu sein, denn ihre Körpersprache wechselt zwischen mädchenhaft, introspektiv und unbeschwert, während ihre Stimme Brillanz, Wärme, Geheimnis und Sehnsucht ausstrahlt. Als verarmter junger Adliger Des Grieux stellt Rolando Villazón mit seiner glühenden, geschmeidigen, schlanken Tenorstimme die brennende Leidenschaft eines letztlich zum Scheitern verurteilten Liebhabers eindrucksvoll dar.
Der Hollywood-Touch der glitzernden Produktion ist dem Regisseur Vincent Paterson zu verdanken, der sein Operndebüt mit "Manon" gibt. Paterson weiß, was Stars wollen: Er arbeitete sich vom Tänzer zum Regisseur von Musikvideoclips und international renommierten Choreografen hoch, der mit Madonna, Michael Jackson und Paul McCartney zusammengearbeitet und mehrere Broadway-Musicals inszeniert hat. Er arbeitete auch an Filmen wie "Dancer in the Dark", "Evita" und "The Birdcage". Paterson sieht "Manon" als filmische Geschichte für die Opernbühne, Massenets bunte Musik als eine Art Filmsoundtrack.
Deshalb legte er den Schwerpunkt klar auf Glamour. "Barenboim verleiht den ansprechenden Melodien Farbe und ist fein abgestimmt auf die emotionale Fragilität, die sie ausdrücken." (Süddeutsche Zeitung) Wie es sich für ein Ereignis dieser Größenordnung gehört, wurde eine der Aufführungen der Oper auf einer 70 Quadratmeter großen Leinwand auf einem großen Berliner Platz vor 20.000 Menschen gezeigt. Dies ist eine "Manon", die alle Liebhaber von Opern, Filmen, Broadway-Shows und schönen Menschen mit wunderschönen Stimmen begeistert!

Details

Besetzung

Galerie

Empfehlungen

Zugehörige Kollektionen