Herbert Blomstedt returns to the Sächsische Staatskapelle Dresden, where he was a long-time chief conductor for ten years. This programme personally put together by the maestro couldn't be better for this special occasion. The symphonic OEuvre of Anton Bruckner was always a central point of Blomstedt's studies and now he combines his "romantic" symphony with Ludwig van Beethoven's 1st piano concerto. Sir András Schiff shines as the oustanding pianist in this concert.

Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827)
Piano Concerto No. 1 in C major, Op. 15
1. Allegro con brio
2. Largo
3. Rondo. Allegro scherzando
Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750)
Italian Concerto, BWV 971
1. Allegro
Anton Bruckner (1824-1896)
Symphony No. 4 in E-flat major WAB 104 "Romantic"
2nd version 1878/80
1. Bewegt, nicht zu schnell (With motion, not too fast)
2. Andante quasi Allegretto
3. Scherzo. Bewegt (With motion) – Trio: Nicht zu schnell, keinesfalls schleppend (Not too fast)
4. Finale. Bewegt, doch nicht zu schnell (With motion, but not too fast)





Associated Collections

Promotion image Promotion image

Anton Bruckner

Promotion image Promotion image


Promotion image Promotion image

Bruckner Symphonies

Promotion image Promotion image

Staatskapelle Dresden

Promotion image Promotion image

Beethoven Magic Moments