When Valery Gergiev raises the baton at the Vienna Philharmonic's podium, an unforgettable concert experience is guaranteed. Peter Tchaikovsky's Symphony No. 1 "Winter Dreams" and Nicolai Rimsky-Korsakov's "Scheherazade" (Symphonic Suite from "Thousand and One Nights") are two works that carry the listener away into worlds between dazzling orchestration, the special Russian sound and a longing and fascination for the Orient.
Valery Gergiev in an interview with Barbara Rett: "We started with the word 'dream'. The great orchestras of the world are currently experiencing great upheavals, changes. My greatest dream for the Vienna Philharmonic is that they will take this "golden sound" that I heard in 1997 when I first conducted them into the future! I remember the faces of the musicians to this day, I still know their names, I remember their love for music, which is so deep in this orchestra. I hope - and I know for certain - that this will continue! The Philharmonic Orchestra will pass it on - like the Olympic Fire in sport. And I know: with the fantastic "Golden Sound" the orchestra will be ready for a fantastic future!"


Peter Ilyich Tchaikovsky - Symphony No. 1 in G minor, op. 13, “Winter Dreams”
Rimski-Korsakov - Scheherazade, Symphonic Suite from “One Thousand and One Nights”, op. 35


  • Production Year:


  • Category:
  • Genres:
  • Age rating:


  • Audio Language:

    no linguistic content

  • Subtitle Language:

    no subtitles

  • Location:
  • Country:




Additional Materials


Associated Collections

Promotion image Promotion image

Wiener Musikverein

Promotion image Promotion image

Subscription Concerts

Promotion image Promotion image

Valery Gergiev