Opening concert of the festival "Prague Spring" from the Smetana Hall in Prague. Czech Philharmonic Orchestra, conductor: Jirí Belohlávek. The cycle "Má vlast" (My Country) is the grand oeuvre of the Czech composer Bedrich Smetana (1824-1884). It consists of six symphonic poems, each describing an essential aspect of his home country: "Vysehrad" describes splendour and fall of Prague's historic fort. "The Moldau" - Smetana's most famous work - accompanies the river through the countryside from the source to the mouth. "Sarka" is the legend of the heroic young woman who takes revenge on all men in anger about the infidelity of her lover. "From Bohemia's Woods and Fields" depicts the beauty of the Czech countryside. "Tábor" is about the revolt of the Hussites, who hide in the fortified town of Tábor. "Blaník" is the mountain, in which the Hussites retreated after their defeat to wait for a new, victorious battle. Finally, the entire nation marches to the sounds of the Hussite hymn.





Associated Collections

Promotion image Promotion image

Classical vacation

Promotion image Promotion image

Last Chance