Celebrated conductor Lorin Maazel, a young orchestra of outstanding musicians, four high-caliber soloists and one of the great choral works of musical literature - this alone would make this live recording of Verdi's Requiem a stand-out document of filmed music. But there is more: the venue of this grandiose performance, the Basilica of San Marco in Venice, with its shimmering golden Byzantine mosaics framed by mighty pillars and arches. Modeled on Constantine the Great's Church of the Holy Apostles in Constantinople, the 11th-century basilica has been the workplace of many a great musician in the past, such as Claudio Monteverdi, Adrian Willaert and Giovanni Gabrieli. Lorin Maazel founded the young orchestra "Symphonica Toscanini" in May 2006. This recording features distinguished soloists Norma Fantini (soprano), Anna Smirnova (mezzo-soprano), Francesco Meli (tenor), Rafal Siwek (bass). The Chorus of the Maggio Musicale Fiorentino supplies a masterfully nuanced vocal support.


  • Production Year:


  • Category:
  • Genres:
  • Age rating:


  • Audio Language:

    no linguistic content

  • Subtitle Language:

    no subtitles

  • Location:
  • Country:





Associated Collections

Promotion image Promotion image

Giuseppe Verdi

Promotion image Promotion image

Tutto Verdi

Promotion image Promotion image

50 years Unitel