Content

The BBC Symphony Orchestra and Igor Levit, conducted by Edward Gardner, follow the tried formula for the First Night of the Proms at London’s Royal Albert Hall, combining an exciting new work by a British artist, Tom Coult’s St John’s Dance, with a repertoire classic – Beethoven’s 3rd Piano Concerto – and a topical piece such as John Adam’s Harmonium, marking the composer’s 70th birthday.

The world premiere of Coult’s St John’s Dance proves an intriguing start of the night. Inspired by the medieval phenomenon of unstoppable, involuntary dancing that afflicted whole communities and could last for weeks, the new piece is a proper boost of energy.

Acting as the perfect counterbalance, Igor Levit performs Beethoven’s 3rd Piano Concerto “with rare grace and intimacy” (The Independent). The soloist, regarded as one of the top pianists of his generation, is also responsible for one of the opening night’s highlights: the Russian-German pianist chooses Liszt’s transcription of Beethoven’s Ode to Joy, the official hymn of the European Union, as his encore – a spellbinding moment by the outspoken musician who has advocated the EU as “a project of unity and peace”.

For the grand finale of the First Night of the Proms, John Adam’s Harmonium receives “a glowing performance” (The Daily Telegraph) by its gargantuan choir: alongside the BBCSO under Edward Gardner, the BBC Symphony Chorus and the BBC Proms Youth Choir make up the choral forces for the most well-known secular Minimalist choral work, doing “a formidable job” in “this stratospherically high, rhythmically difficult, super-exposed job.” (The Observer)

Details

  • Production Year:

    2017

  • Genres:
  • Age rating:

    0+

  • Audio Language:

    no linguistic content

  • Subtitle Language:

    no subtitles

  • Festival:
  • Location:
  • Country:

    United Kingdom

Besetzung

Gallery

Recommendations

Associated Collections

Inhalt

Das BBC Symphony Orchestra und Igor Levit, unter der Leitung von Edward Gardner, folgen der bewährten Formel für die erste Nacht der Proms in der Londoner Royal Albert Hall und kombinieren ein aufregendes neues Werk des britischen Künstlers Tom Coult's - St. John's Dance - mit einem Repertoireklassiker - Beethovens 3. Klavierkonzert - und einem Stück von John Adams - Harmonium – anlässlich des 70. Geburtstags des Komponisten.

Die Uraufführung von Coults St. John's Dance markiert einen ein faszinierender Beginn des Konzertabends. Inspiriert ist dieses Stück von der so genannten Tanzwut – eine Massenhysterie, welche im Mittelalter auftauchte, bei der ganze Gemeinden unwillkürlich in einen ekstatischen Zustand unaufhörlichen Tanzens gerieten. Diesem Bild entsprechend ist diese Uraufführung ein richtiger Energieschub.

Als perfektes Gegengewicht führt Igor Levit Beethovens 3. Klavierkonzert "mit seltener Anmut und Intimität" (The Independent) auf. Der Solist, nicht selten zu einem der besten Pianisten seiner Generation gezählt, sorgt für einen der Höhepunkte der Eröffnungsnacht: Der russisch-deutsche Pianist wählt Liszts Transkription von Beethovens Ode an die Freude - die offiziellen Hymne der Europäischen Union - als Zugabe: ein berührender Moment des freimütigen Musikers, der sich für die EU als "ein Projekt der Einheit und des Friedens" ausgesprochen hat.

Für das große Finale der First Night of the Proms ist die „glühende Performance“ (The Daily Telegraph) der gigantischen Chöre verantwortlich: der BBC Symphony Chor, als auch der BBC Proms Jugend Chor geben John Adams Harmonium – die wohl bekannteste säkulare minimalistische Chorarbeit, welche eine "stratosphärisch hohe, rhythmisch schwierige, und super-exponierte Aufgabe"(The Observer) darstellt, eindrucksvoll zum Besten.

Details

  • Produktionsjahr:

    2017

  • Genres:
  • Altersfreigabe:

    0+

  • Audiosprache:

    keine Sprachinhalte

  • Untertitelsprache:

    keine Untertitel

  • Festival:
  • Location:
  • Land:

    Vereinigtes Königreich

Besetzung

Galerie

Empfehlungen

Zugehörige Kollektionen