Content

“Hollywood in Vienna”, the symphonic gala concert celebrating classic and contemporary master-pieces of film music, combines an orchestral concert of highest musical level with guests from the dream factory and a Hollywood-like staging in the historical setting of the Vienna Concert Hall. In this edition, it deals with the very special friendship between Hollywood and the world of fairy tales leading the audience into the land of mythical creatures.
Beauty Belle is allowed to realize that an enchanted prince may be hiding behind the fearsome Beast. Peering behind mysterious doors, a legendary parallel universe is explored in The Chronicles of Narnia. The ORF Radio-Symphonieorchester and conductor John Mauceri accompany the brave Mulan on her adventurous journey through medieval China. In Finding Neverland, they look over the shoulder of the author of Peter Pan. The musical programme further features the story of the shipwrecked Pi and a Bengal tiger in Life of Pi, before it finally pays homage to Simba, the Lion King.
At each “Hollywood in Vienna” concert gala the “Max Steiner Film Music Achievement Award” is presented by the City of Vienna to one of the world’s most renowned film music composers – this year’s winner is a composer of countless fantastically bizarre screen fables: Danny Elfman, nominated for four Oscars and congenial partner of director Tim Burton. He added his unmistakably powerful sound fantasies to Edward Scissorhands, Nightmare Before Christmas, Corpse Bride, Batman, and also to the movie about America’s yellow cult family The Simpsons.

***

Program:
Justin Hurwitz - "LaLa-Land" - Medley
Alan Menken - "Beauty and the Beast" - Medley
Jerry Harry, Gregson Williams - "The Chronicles of Narnia" - Suite
Jerry Goldsmith - Mulan Suite
Steven Price - "Final Fantasy VIII" - Liberi Fatali
Jan A.P. Kaczmarek - "Finding Neverland" - Piano Variation in Blue
Mychael Danna - "Life of Pi" - Pi's Lullaby
Hans Zimmer, Lebo M, Elton John - "The Lion King" - Medley
Justin Hurwitz - "LaLa Land" - The Fools who dream
Danny Elfman:
Danny Elfman Medley
"Sommersby" Suite
"Alice in Wonderland" - Theme
"The Nightmare before Christmas" - This is Halloween
"Edward Scissorhands - Suite"
"The Simpsons -Suite"
"The Nightmare before Christmas" - What's This
Max Steiner - "Gone with the Wind"

Details

  • Production Year:

    2017

  • Genres:
  • Age rating:

    0+

  • Audio Language:

    no linguistic content

  • Subtitle Language:

    no subtitles

  • Location:
  • Country:

    Austria

Gallery

Recommendations

Associated Collections

Inhalt

“Hollywood in Vienna”, das symphonische Gala-Konzert feiert klassische und zeitgenössische Meisterwerke der Filmmusik, kombiniert ein Orchesterkonzert vom höchsten musikalischen Level mit Gästen der „dream factory“ und Hollywood-ähnlichem Bühnenbild im historischen Ambiente des Wiener Konzerthauses. In dieser Folge geht es um die sehr besondere Freundschaft zwischen Hollywood und der Welt der Märchen, um das Publikum in das Land der mythischen Kreaturen zu führen.
„Beauty Belle“ ist in der Lage zu erkennen, dass sich ein verzauberter Prinz hinter dem furchteinflößenden Biest verstecken könnte. Verborgen hinter mysteriösen Türen wird ein legendäres Paralleluniversum in den „Chroniken von Narnia“ erforscht. Das ORF-Radiosymphonieorchester und Dirigent John Mauceri begleiten die tapfere „Mulan“ auf ihren abenteuerlichen Reisen durch das mittelalterliche China. In „Finding Neverland“ schauen sie über die Schulter des Autors von „Peter Pan“. Das weitere musikalische Programm besteht aus der Geschichte des schiffsbrüchigen Pi und einem Königstiger aus „Life of Pi“ bevor abschließend eine Hommage an Simba, dem „König der Löwen“, folgt.
Bei jeder „Hollywood in Vienna“-Konzertgala wird der „Max Steiner Film Music Achievement Award“ von der Stadt Wien an einen der weltberühmtesten Filmmusikkomponisten verliehen – in diesem Jahr ist es ein Komponist, der unzählige fantastisch bizarre Kreaturen vertonte: Danny Elfman, nominiert für vier Oscars und kongenialer Partner von Tim Burton. Seine unglaublich kraftvollen Klangfantasien begleiten „Edward Scissorhands“, „Nightmare Before Christmas“, „Corpse Bride“, „Batman“ und auch den Film von Amerikas gelber Kultfamilie „The Simpsons“.

***

Programm:
Justin Hurwitz - "LaLa-Land" - Medley
Alan Menken - "Beauty and the Beast" - Medley
Jerry Harry, Gregson Williams - "The Chronicles of Narnia" - Suite
Jerry Goldsmith - Mulan Suite
Steven Price - "Final Fantasy VIII" - Liberi Fatali
Jan A.P. Kaczmarek - "Finding Neverland" - Piano Variation in Blue
Mychael Danna - "Life of Pi" - Pi's Lullaby
Hans Zimmer, Lebo M, Elton John - "The Lion King" - Medley
Justin Hurwitz - "LaLa Land" - The Fools who dream
Danny Elfman:
Danny Elfman Medley
"Sommersby" Suite
"Alice in Wonderland" - Theme
"The Nightmare before Christmas" - This is Halloween
"Edward Scissorhands - Suite"
"The Simpsons -Suite"
"The Nightmare before Christmas" - What's This
Max Steiner - "Gone with the Wind"

Details

  • Produktionsjahr:

    2017

  • Genres:
  • Altersfreigabe:

    0+

  • Audiosprache:

    keine Sprachinhalte

  • Untertitelsprache:

    keine Untertitel

  • Location:
  • Land:

    Österreich

Galerie

Empfehlungen

Zugehörige Kollektionen