Content

First performed in Brno in 1921, Káťa Kabanová stands at the beginning of Leoš Janáček's last creative decade. The libretto for Káťa Kabanová is based on the Czech translation of Alexander Ostrowski's 1859 play The Thunderstorm, set in a small-town milieu dominated by wealthy merchants in mid-19th-century Russia.

Janáček's musico-dramatic style in the last years of his life, reflecting the "speech melodies" he explored so much, is unmistakable: he concentrates characters, psychology and situations, creating an atmosphere that touches the audience directly and abruptly. In his new production of Káťa Kabanová at the Salzburg Festival, director Barrie Kosky aims to highlight the contrast and tension between the protagonist and her confining living world.

Corinne Winters takes on the leading role of Káťa, whose burning urge for freedom, threatens to be stifled by her marriage and her claustrophobic living situation. Jaroslav Březina takes on the role of her husband Tikhon, who seeks refuge in alcohol, and whose mother, the merchant widow Kabanicha (Evelyn Herlitzius), watches over the household with a nagging tone and despotic hand. When the opportunity presents itself, Káťa's sister-in-law Varvara (Jarmila Balážová), aware of Káťa's unfulfilled longings and secret love, arranges a meeting with the unmarried Boris (David Butt Philip), setting the fateful story in motion. The part of Boris' uncle Savjol Prokofjevič Dikoj, who in turn pays his respects to Káťa's mother-in-law, is sung by German bass Jens Larsen. Conductor Jakub Hrůša will be at the podium of the Vienna Philharmonic Orchestra, making his festival debut.

Details

Besetzung

Recommendations

Associated Collections

Promotion image Promotion image

Salzburg 2022

Promotion image Promotion image

Past Live-Events

Inhalt

1921 in Brno uraufgeführt, steht Káťa Kabanová am Beginn von Leoš Janáčeks letzter Schaffensdekade. Das Libretto zu Káťa Kabanová basiert auf der tschechischen Übersetzung von Alexander Ostrowskis Schauspiel „Das Gewitter“ aus dem Jahr 1859, das in einem kleinstädtischen, von wohlhabenden Kaufleuten beherrschten Milieu Mitte des 19. Jahrhunderts in Russland spielt.

Janáčeks musikdramatischer Stil in seinen letzten Lebensjahren, in dem sich die von ihm viel erforschten „Sprachmelodien“ wiederspiegeln, ist unverkennbar: er konzentriert Charaktere, Psychologie und Situationen, und lässt eine Atmosphäre entstehen, die das Publikum direkt und unvermittelt berührt. Regisseur Barrie Kosky möchte in seiner Neuinszenierung der Káťa Kabanová bei den Salzburger Festspielen den Gegensatz und die Spannung zwischen der Protagonistin und ihrer beengenden Lebenswelt verdeutlichen.

Corinne Winters übernimmt die Hauptrolle der Káťa, deren brennender Drang nach Freiheit, durch ihre Heirat und ihre klaustrophobisch anmutende Lebenssituation erstickt zu werden droht. Jaroslav Březina schlüpft in die Rolle ihres, im Alkohol Zuflucht suchenden, Ehemanns Tichon, dessen Mutter, die Kaufmannswitwe Kabanicha (Evelyn Herlitzius), mit nörgelndem Ton und despotischer Hand über den Haushalt wacht. Als sich die Gelegenheit bietet, arrangiert Káťas Schwägerin Varvara (Jarmila Balážová), die um Káťas unerfüllten Sehnsüchte und ihre heimliche Liebe weiß, ein Treffen mit dem unverheirateten Boris (David Butt Philip), wodurch die schicksalhafte Geschichte ihren Lauf nimmt. Die Partie von Boris‘ Onkel Savjol Prokofjevič Dikoj, der wiederum Káťas Schwiegermutter die Aufwartung macht, wird vom deutschen Bass Jens Larsen gesungen. Am Pult der Wiener Philharmoniker steht Dirigent Jakub Hrůša und gibt damit sein Festspieldebüt.

Details

Besetzung

Empfehlungen