Content

Vienna State Opera, April 2016. After the thunderous applause following “E lucevan le stelle,” the tenor hit from Puccini’s Tosca, the aria is repeated once more. Then the conductor moves onward, but the diva fails to appear on stage. Is she upset because the aria was repeated, or was she simply expecting more applause? Whatever the case may be, the tenor shows great presence of mind, singing “Non abbiamo il soprano” (“We haven’t got a soprano”), perfectly improvised in the style of Puccini - winning the hearts of the public even more, if this is at all possible when we’re talking about Jonas Kaufmann.
Since the Munich tenor is already everyone’s favorite, someone who must have raised his hand particularly often when talents were being distributed - from good looks to intelligence to acting ability. Not to mention his extremely versatile voice with its dark baritone coloring . . .
In the space of a few years, Kaufmann has achieved everything a singer can hope to achieve.Being everywhere does take its toll, but Kaufmann is smart enough to cancel when his voice requires it. Naturally not without personally informing his fans in an open letter - a true star and a remarkable person.

© Ulla Pilz, ORF - Radio Österreich 1

Facts


  • 1969 born in Munich

  • 1994-1996 first engagement in Saarbrücken

  • 1996 reorientation following a vocal crisis; Kaufmann finds his “real,” darker voice

  • 1998 Così fan tutte in Giorgio Strehler’s final production

  • Starting 2001 engagement at the Zurich Opera House, after which he sings main roles at nearly all of Europe’s renowned opera houses

  • 2006 international breakthrough with La Traviata at the Met

  • Solo CDs with music from Wagner and Verdi to Schubert, and from Puccini to operetta

  • Winner of many awards and named “Singer of the Year” (Opernwelt, Echo Klassik, Musical America, International Opera Awards)


Did you know?


  • As a child, Kaufmann is an enthusiastic choir singer; at first he doesn’t want to make a career out of singing so he doesn’t lose his enjoyment of it, and studies mathematics instead.

  • His parents, a kindergarten teacher and insurance clerk who had fled from the GDR, own an extensive classical record collection, and his grandfather also sang Wagner for pleasure while accompanying himself on the piano.

  • After the audience shouts insults during a performance of Die Entführung aus dem Serail in 2003 in Salzburg, Kaufmann makes himself unpopular by directly addressing the public with the words, “Anyone is free to go home.”

  • He is a father of three, but separated from his wife, mezzo-soprano Margarete Joswig, in 2014.

  • Kaufmann is not in favor of specializing in a particular range of roles, finding that the different roles enhance one another, and seeing the alternation between Mozart and Wagner as a “play of yin and yang” that provides balance.

  • Kaufmann also has a great love of literature. In an interview with the Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung, he says, “Rather than shutting off my brain and turning on the TV, I prefer reading,” and continues, “For goodness sake, anyone who sings Carmen should have read Mérimée’s little novelette.”

  • In the same interview, he admits that he’d be very excited to play a film role without singing at all.

  • An Italian magazine invented an affair between Kaufmann and Madonna; he denied it, but added that he admires her ability to continually reinvent herself and would be delighted to sing a duet with her.


Gallery

Recommendations

Associated Collections

Inhalt

Wiener Staatsoper, April 2016. Der Applaus nach „E lucevan le stelle“, dem Tenor-Hit aus Puccinis „Tosca“, ist so heftig, dass die Arie wiederholt wird. Danach geht der Dirigent gleich weiter, aber die Diva erscheint nicht. Ist sie sauer wegen der Wiederholung oder rechnet sie mit noch mehr Beifall? Wie auch immer, der Tenor beweist Geistesgegenwart, er singt „Non abbiamo il soprano“, „Wir haben keinen Sopran“, perfekt im Puccini-Stil improvisiert, und erobert damit die Herzen des Publikums noch mehr, wenn das im Fall von Jonas Kaufmann überhaupt noch möglich ist.

Denn der Münchner Tenor ist ohnehin schon der Liebling aller, einer, der besonders oft aufgezeigt haben muss, als die guten Gaben verteilt wurden, bei der Attraktivität ebenso wie bei der Intelligenz und der schauspielerischen Begabung. Und dann erst diese vielseitig einsetzbare Stimme mit ihrer dunklen, baritonalen Färbung…

Jonas Kaufmann hat in wenigen Jahren alles erreicht, was ein Sänger nur erreichen kann.
Seine Omnipräsenz fordert aber auch ihren Tribut, doch Jonas Kaufmann ist klug genug abzusagen, wenn die Stimme es verlangt. Natürlich nicht, ohne seine Fans mit einem offenen Brief ganz persönlich darüber zu informieren; ein echter Star eben und ein echter Mensch.

© Ulla Pilz, ORF - Radio Österreich 1

Wissenswertes


  • 1969 in München geboren

  • 1994-1996 erstes Engagement in Saarbrücken

  • 1996 Neuorientierung nach einer Stimmkrise, Kaufmann findet zu seiner „eigentlichen“, dunkleren Stimme

  • 1998 „Così fan tutte“ in der letzten Inszenierung Giorgio Strehlers

  • ab 2001 Engagement am Züricher Opernhaus, seither Hauptrollen an fast allen namhaften Opernhäusern Europas

  • 2006 internationaler Durchbruch mit „La Traviata“ an der Met

  • Solo-CDs von Wagner und Verdi bis Schubert und von Puccini bis zur Operette

  • vielfach preisgekrönt und zum „Sänger des Jahres“ gewählt (Opernwelt, Echo Klassik, Musical America, International Opera Awards)


Schon gewusst?


  • Als Kind ist Jonas Kaufmann begeisterter Chorsänger; ursprünglich will er das Singen nicht zum Beruf machen, um nicht die Freude daran zu verlieren und studiert Mathematik.

  • Seine Eltern, eine Kindergärtnerin und ein Versicherungsangestellter, die aus der DDR geflüchtet sind, besitzen eine umfangreiche Klassik-Plattensammlung, und schon der Großvater singt zum Vergnügen Wagner und begleitet sich dabei selber am Klavier.

  • Nach Beschimpfungen des Publikums während „Die Entführung aus dem Serail“ 2003 in Salzburg macht sich Jonas Kaufmann unbeliebt, indem er sich mit den Worten „Es steht jedem frei, nach Hause zu gehen“ direkt ans Auditorium wendet.

  • Er ist dreifacher Vater, aber seit 2014 von seiner Ehefrau, der Mezzosopranistin Margarete Joswig, getrennt.

  • Kaufmann lehnt eine Spezialisierung auf ein enges Rollenfach ab, er findet, dass die unterschiedlichen Partien einander befruchten und sieht den Wechsel zwischen Mozart und Wagner als ausgleichendes „Yin-Yang-Spiel“.

  • Eine große Liebe Jonas Kaufmanns ist auch die Literatur, im Interview mit der FAZ sagt er, „Bevor ich mein Gehirn ab- und die Glotze anschalte, lese ich lieber“ oder „Jeder, der „Carmen“ singt, sollte doch in Gottes Namen mal diese kleine, schmale Novelle von Mérimée gelesen haben.“

  • Im selben Gespräch gesteht er, dass es ihn reizen würde, einmal eine Filmrolle zu spielen, ganz ohne zu singen.

  • Eine italienische Illustrierte dichtet ihm eine Affäre mit Madonna an, er dementiert, fügt aber hinzu, dass er sie für ihre Fähigkeit, sich immer wieder neu zu erfinden, bewundere und gern ein Duett mit ihr singen würde.


Galerie

Empfehlungen

Zugehörige Kollektionen