Content

A rarely performed masterpiece, Gioachino Rossini’s Mosè in Egitto takes centre stage at the Bregenz Festival thanks to Lotte de Beer who retrieves this hidden gem of opera literature for a spectacular staging.

De Beer, one of the most sought-after stage directors of her generation (International Opera Newcomer Award 2015) teams up with the Dutch theatre collective Hotel Modern to tell the story of the Biblical Exodus. Their unique production concept for Mosè in Egitto revolves around the ingenuity of Hotel Modern. The theatre group conjures up its own reality by using live animations to portray the mass scenes and the parallel narratives of the people and the slaves. Miniature cameras, thousands of puppets, models of villages and cities and a spectacular aquarium installation present the biblical tale of plagues and the parting of the Red Sea on the Bregenz stage – “a stroke of genius” (Der Standard).

The universal narrative, with its themes of migration and the inability to deal with power, has lost none of its urgency and topicality and is brought to life by the Wiener Symphoniker under Enrique Mazzola and the Prague Philharmonic Choir. Mazzola, who is a live wire on the rostrum, drives the Symphoniker to a top performance. Soprano Mandy Fredrich captivates as Amaltea and British bass baritone Andrew Foster-Williams’ Faraone competes with Goran Jurić who is “a Mose with bear-like strength and softness” (Der Standard). Clarissa Costanzo (Elcia) displays her expressive soprano. Energetic Matteo Macchioni and dazzling Taylan Reinhard impress in their roles as Aronne and Mambre, while Sunnyboy Dladla (Osiride) shines with “the beautiful timbre of his lyrical tenor” (Kurier).

Details

  • Production Year:

    2017

  • Genres:
  • Age rating:

    0+

  • Audio Language:

    no linguistic content

  • Subtitle Language:

    English

  • Festival:
  • Country:

    Austria

Besetzung

Gallery

Recommendations

Associated Collections

Inhalt

Ein selten aufgeführtes Meisterwerk, Gioachino Rossinis Mosè in Egitto, steht im Mittelpunkt der Bregenzer Festspiele, dank Lotte de Beer, die dieses verborgene Kleinod der Opernliteratur für eine spektakuläre Inszenierung ausgräbt.

De Beer, eine der gefragtesten Regisseurinnen ihrer Generation (International Opera Newcomer Award 2015), erzählt gemeinsam mit dem niederländischen Theaterkollektiv Hotel Modern die Geschichte des biblischen Exodus. Ihr einzigartiges Produktionskonzept für Moses in Ägypten dreht sich um den Einfallsreichtum des Hotel Modern. Die Theatergruppe kreiert ihre eigene Realität anhand von Live-Animationen, mit denen sie Massenszenen und die parallel stattfindenden Erzählungen der Menschen und Sklaven darstellen. Miniaturkameras, tausende von Figuren, Modelle von Dörfern und Städten und eine spektakuläre Aquarieninstallation stellen die Geschichte der biblischen Plagen und dem Auszug der Israeliten aus Ägypten durch das geteilte Rote Meer im Festspielhaus Bregenz dar - "ein Geniestreich" (Der Standard).

Die universell gültige Erzählung mit ihren Themen Migration und Machtlosigkeit hat nichts von ihrer Dringlichkeit und Aktualität verloren und wird von den Wiener Symphonikern unter Enrique Mazzola und den Prager Philharmonikern zum Leben erweckt. Mazzola, der ein Energiebündelauf dem Podium ist, treibt die Symphoniker zu einer Spitzenleistung. Die Sopranistin Mandy Fredrich besticht als Amaltea und der britische Bassbariton Andrew Foster-Williams als Pharao, neben Goran Jurić, der "ein Mosè mit bärenhafter Wucht und Weichheit" (Der Standard) ist. Clarissa Costanzo (Elcia) beweist sich als ausdrucksstarke Sopranistin. Der energetische Matteo Macchioni und schillernde Taylan Reinhard beeindrucken in ihren Rollen als Aronne und Mambre, während Sunnyboy Dladla (Osiride) mit seinem "höhensicheren lyrischen Tenor mit wunderschönem Timbre" (Kurier) glänzt.

Details

  • Produktionsjahr:

    2017

  • Genres:
  • Altersfreigabe:

    0+

  • Audiosprache:

    keine Sprachinhalte

  • Untertitelsprache:

    Deutsch

  • Festival:
  • Land:

    Österreich

Besetzung

Galerie

Empfehlungen

Zugehörige Kollektionen