Content

The Mahler Project: A fascinating documentary on the musical world of Gustav Mahler as seen by the two great musicians, and a recording of Mahler's colossal Ninth.

"Mahler created a new world with each of his symphonies (…) It is a fantastic journey for both of us". With these few words, Daniel Barenboim sums up the vast scope of a project undertaken with his friend Pierre Boulez: two very different world-class conductors tackle all nine completed symphonies of Gustav Mahler (1860-1911) with one orchestra, the Staatskapelle Berlin. Performed as a complete cycle in Berlin, Vienna and New York, the concerts were a tremendous success. The Financial Times even wrote: "New York is going Mahler mad".

Before embarking on this journey, the two conductors underwent a long period of reflection and discussion. In this documentary, director Christoph Engel compiles a rich selection of statements, conversations and musical excerpts which show how differently each maestro approaches this mighty oeuvre: "Barenboim's readings seethe with subtly controlled passion […] Boulez approaches Mahler with a cool head…", summarized The New York Times. Yet each conductor remains true to his vision: "We don't try to influence each other. We are who we are", said Pierre Boulez to The New York Times.

In addition to being a fascinating insight into Mahler's symphonic oeuvre, which allows the viewer to uncover the essence of Mahler's music, "The Mahler Project" also features a complete concert recording from the Berliner Philharmonie of the colossal Ninth Symphony, which is considered as the culmination of the Austrian composer's works. Conductor Daniel Barenboim delivers an interpretation which The New York Times proclaimed "a milestone for the Staatskapelle Berlin".

Details

  • Production Year:

    2009

  • Genres:
  • Age rating:

    0+

  • Audio Language:

    no linguistic content

  • Subtitle Language:

    no subtitles

  • Country:

    Germany

Besetzung

Gallery

Additional Materials

Recommendations

Inhalt

Das Mahler-Projekt: Ein faszinierender Dokumentarfilm über die musikalische Welt von Gustav Mahler aus der Sicht der beiden großen Musiker und eine Aufnahme von Mahlers kolossaler Neunter.

"Mahler schuf mit jeder seiner Symphonien eine neue Welt (...) Es ist eine fantastische Reise für uns beide". Mit diesen wenigen Worten fasst Daniel Barenboim die enorme Tragweite eines Projekts zusammen, das er mit seinem Freund Pierre Boulez unternommen hat: Zwei sehr unterschiedliche Dirigenten von Weltrang nehmen mit einem Orchester, der Staatskapelle Berlin, alle neun vollendeten Symphonien von Gustav Mahler (1860-1911) in Angriff. Als kompletter Zyklus in Berlin, Wien und New York aufgeführt, waren die Konzerte ein riesiger Erfolg. Die Financial Times schrieb sogar: "New York wird Mahler-verrückt".

Bevor die beiden Dirigenten diese Reise antraten, gab es eine lange Phase der Reflexion und Diskussion. Regisseur Christoph Engel hat in diesem Dokumentarfilm eine reiche Auswahl an Statements, Gesprächen und musikalischen Ausschnitten zusammengestellt, die zeigen, wie unterschiedlich sich die beiden Maestros diesem gewaltigen Werk nähern: "Barenboims Lesungen brodeln vor subtil kontrollierter Leidenschaft [...] Boulez nähert sich Mahler mit kühlem Kopf...", resümierte die New York Times. Dennoch bleibt jeder Dirigent seiner Vision treu: "Wir versuchen nicht, uns gegenseitig zu beeinflussen. Wir sind, wer wir sind", sagte Pierre Boulez der New York Times.

"The Mahler Project" bietet nicht nur einen faszinierenden Einblick in Mahlers symphonisches Werk, der es dem Zuschauer ermöglicht, die Essenz von Mahlers Musik zu entdecken, sondern auch einen kompletten Konzertmitschnitt aus der Berliner Philharmonie der kolossalen Neunten Symphonie, die als Höhepunkt im Schaffen des österreichischen Komponisten gilt. Dirigent Daniel Barenboim liefert eine Interpretation, die die New York Times als "Meilenstein für die Staatskapelle Berlin" bezeichnete.

Details

  • Produktionsjahr:

    2009

  • Genres:
  • Altersfreigabe:

    0+

  • Audiosprache:

    keine Sprachinhalte

  • Untertitelsprache:

    keine Untertitel

  • Land:

    Deutschland

Besetzung

Galerie

zusätzliche Materialien

Empfehlungen